---
title: Deactivate, reactivate & delete users
slug: deactivate-reactivate-and-delete-users
docTags: 
createdAt: 2024-04-05T17:41:25.325Z
---

:::hint{type="info"}
**Who can do this:**

- Anyone with the Users (editable) permission
:::

Find out how to temporarily suspend, restore, and remove users.

![](https://api.archbee.com/api/optimize/aL1TvWcESMCDQPkBf0hc--JtpqLlv8nUZGvXcyb0wfm-20240924-164822.png)

:::hint{type="warning"}
**Should I deactivate or hard delete a former employee?**

Deactivating a user doesn’t end active sessions. Use **Hard delete&#x20;**&#x74;o immediately terminate sessions and fully revoke access.
:::

# Open user list

Manage the access of all your users.&#x20;

To view and manage users:

- Go to **Admin** ➤ **Users**.

Follow the steps below for the option you want.

## Deactivate a user

Suspend a user's ability to log in temporarily or permanently.&#x20;

To deactivate a user:&#x20;

1. In the user list tick the user(s).
2. Click **Deactivate&#x20;**&#x61;nd confirm in the dialog.

To view deactivated users, tick the **Inactive&#x20;**&#x63;heckbox in the top-right corner.

:::hint{type="warning"}
**How does deactivating a user impact SSO login?&#x20;**

If your SSO is synced with Refresh, deactivating a user in the dashboard will block their SSO login until reactivated, even if they're still active in the directory. Any changes to the user in the directory (except removal) will also automatically reactivate them.
:::

## Reactivate a user

Reinstate a deactivated user, so they can once again log into the app.&#x20;

To reactivate a user:&#x20;

1. In top-right corner, tick **Inactive**.
2. Tick the user(s) and click **Reactivate.**
3. Confirm in the dialog.

Reactivated users will appear in your active user list.

:::hint{type="success"}
**Have I synced our SSO with Refresh?**

If your SSO directory is synced with Refresh, when a user is added, updated, or deactivated in your directory, this will be communicated to Refresh.&#x20;
:::

## Hard delete a user

Permanently remove a user from the dashboard.

To delete a user:

1. [Deactivate the user.](docId\:hfLaj1lmgRCvQAZnnGHSf)&#x20;
2. In the top-right corner, tick the **Inactive&#x20;**&#x63;heckbox.&#x20;
3. Tick the user(s) and click **Hard delete.**
4. Confirm in the dialog.

Deleted users will lose immediate access to the app.&#x20;

If needed, you can always send a deleted user a fresh new invite to the app. See [Add & invite a single user](docId\:h-DTFl9cSNrA1gxzzUVTC).&#x20;
